A Celebration of Excellence: Award Ceremony and Dinner


Acknowledgement of staff excellence, community engagement & exceptional performance

Start Date

27th Sep 2012 6:00pm

End Date

27th Sep 2012 10:00pm


Sandy Bay campus

RSVP / Contact Information

E.; P. 6226 2521

Each year, the University acknowledges distinguished service, research and teaching excellence, and community engagement by its academic staff, and exceptional performance by professional staff.
Ceremony - Stanley Burbury Theatre, University Centre - 6:00pm

Dinner - University Club, Dobson Road, Sandy Bay - 7:30pm


Click here to download a copy of the invitation, including a list of Award Recipients (PDF 146.5KB)

Click here to book and pay online.


Need to borrow academic dress?

Please complete the Academic Dress Booking Form (WORD 13.2KB) and send the completed form by email to or fax to 6226 2018. 


Award Recipients
Distinguished Service Medal

Professor Kate Warner

Vice Chancellor's Awards for Outstanding Contributions to Research and Research Training

Dr Costan Magnussen
Professor Vadim Kamenetsky
Professor Gustaaf Hallegraeff

Vice-Chancellor’s Commendations for Sustained Commitment to Teaching Excellence

Professor Susan Jones

Vice-Chancellor’s Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning

Constitutional Law 2: Dr Brendan Gogarty and Ms Anja Hilkemeijer

Vice-Chancellor’s Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning

Associate Professor Leon Barmuta
Dr Andrea Carr
Mrs Tracy Douglas
Dr Michael Gardiner
Associate Professor Mark Hovenden
Dr Hui Jiao
Dr Nenagh Kemp
Dr Emma Pharo
Dr Michelle Phillipov
Dr Michael Powell

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Outstanding Contributions by Voluntary Position Holders

Dr John Greenhill

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Outstanding Community Engagement

Individual Award:
Professor Adrian Franklin
Associate Professor Erica Bell
Mr Neil Haddon

Team Award : Bookend Trust
Dr Niall Doran, Dr Alastair Richardson, Mr Andrew Hughes, Dr Regina Magierowski, Mrs Felicity Wilkinson, Ms Ninna Millikin, Mr Peter Harcourt

Vice-Chancellor's Awards for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff

Miss Karine Cadoret
Ms Pamela Page