Vice-Chancellor's Awards Ceremony and Dinner


Acknowledgement of staff excellence, community engagement & exceptional performance

Start Date

9th Nov 2017 6:00pm

End Date

9th Nov 2017 10:00pm


Sandy Bay campus

RSVP / Contact Information

Enquiries - Jeanette Farnell. E.; T. 6226 2521

The 2017 Vice-Chancellor's Awards will acknowledge internationally recognised and outstanding research performance; enhancement of student experience; programs that enhance learning; community engagement; outstanding contribution by Adjunct and Clinical Title Holders; exceptional performance by professional staff; and 25 years' service to the University.

register now

Ceremony - Stanley Burbury Theatre, University Centre - 6:00pm
Refreshments from 5.15pm

Dinner - University Club, Dobson Road, Sandy Bay - 7:30pm

Details for the Awards Ceremony

Please arrive and be seated in the Stanley Burbury Theatre prior to 6.00pm.  The ceremony will start with a procession of award recipients and University high officers.

Academic Regalia
University staff are encouraged to attend the Awards Ceremony in academic regalia. If you need to borrow academic dress for the ceremony please collect this from Room 303, Level 3 of the University Centre, between 10.00am and 3.00pm on Thursday 9 November.

Details for the Awards Dinner

A celebratory dinner will follow the Award Ceremony at the University Club.  The dinner provides a collegial opportunity for colleagues and friends of the University to celebrate staff excellence.

Cost $95 per person

For enquiries, please contact Jeanette Farnell on 03 6226 2521 or

2017 Vice-Chancellor Award Recipients

Distinguished Service Medal
Professor Stewart Frusher

Vice-Chancellor’s Medal for Sustained Commitment to Teaching Excellence
Professor Justin Walls

University of Tasmania Research Medal 
Professor Graham Edgar

Award for Outstanding Research Performance by a New Researcher
Dr Noleine Fitzallen 

Award for an Outstanding Research Program
Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Research Group
Professor Bruce Taylor, Professor Andrew Palmer, Associate Professor Leigh Blizzard, Associate Professor Ingrid van der Mei, Dr Jac Charlesworth and Dr Kaylene Young

Award for Exceptional Researcher Development and Higher Degree Research Training Supervision
Professor Michael Breadmore

Award for Learning and Teaching Programs
Career Mentor Program
Dr Julie Preston, Mr Alastair Lee, Mrs Kathy Hoare and Mrs Brigid Wilkinson
Unit for Medication Outcomes, Research and Education (UMORE) Medicines Australia Continuing Education Program (CEP)
Dr Corinna Dwan, Dr Tristan Ling, Dr Ivan Bindoff, Mr Peter Gee, Ms Breeanna Rayner, Professor Gregory Peterson, Associate Professor Luke Bereznicki, Mr Paul McClarron and Dr Nicole Bye

Awards for Early Career Academic Teaching
Dr Alexander Bissember

Award for Outstanding Contribution to Enhancement of the Student Experience
University Students in Schools 
Dr Jess Woodroffe and Mr Robert Alderson

Award for Outstanding Contributions by Adjunct and Clinical Title Holders
Dr Andrew Gooley

Award for Outstanding Community Engagement
Individual Award: Ms Kristyn Whitmore
Team Award: Clemente Program
Dr Terry Moore, Dr Sue Lovegrove, Dr David Vender, Dr Mitchell Rolls, Dr Carol Pybus, Ms Lorise Clark, Ms Miriam Doi 

Award for Exceptional Performance by Professional Staff
Dr Sandrin Feig

The outstanding commitment of those staff who have attained 25 Years of Service to the University will also be recognised at the ceremony.