Computer-aided Chemical Design: The future of chemistry?


Join Professor Michelle Coote at this exciting public lecture where she will share a taste of the things computational chemistry can do, from the innovative, to the crazy.

Start Date

12th Sep 2017 7:30pm

End Date

12th Sep 2017 8:30pm


Harvard Lecture Theatre 2, Centenary Building, Sandy Bay campus

Register Now

presented by

Professor Michelle Coote

Professor Michelle Coote

Australian National University

Most people regard chemistry as an experimental science and experiments are certainly very important. After all, one of the main goals of chemical research is to make useful materials, pharmaceuticals and all the other products upon which modern life depends.

In this presentation, Michelle will give you a taste of some of things computational chemistry can do – from the design of paints that last longer, to improved self-healing materials or solar cells. You will see how computational chemistry can be used to test crazy ideas - like using electricity to control chemical reactions - and find out that those ideas may not be so crazy after all.

About Michelle Coote

Professor Michelle Coote, Australian National University, is the 2017 Georgina Sweet ARC Laureate Fellow and an Associate Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society. She is a graduate of the University of New South Wales, where she completed a B.Sc. (Hons) in industrial chemistry (1995), followed by a Ph.D. in polymer chemistry (2000).

Following postdoctoral work at the University of Durham, UK, she joined the Research School of Chemistry, Australian National University in 2001, initially as a postdoctoral fellow with Professor Leo Radom. She established her own research group in 2004 and was promoted to Professor in 2011.

She has published over 200 papers in the fields of polymer chemistry, radical chemistry and computational chemistry, and is a member of the ARC Centre of Excellence for Electromaterials Science.

She has received many awards including the 2001 IUPAC prize for young scientists, the RACI Cornforth medal (2000), Rennie medal (2006) David Sangster Polymer Science and Technology Achievement Award (2010) and HG Smith medal (2016), the Le Fevre Memorial Prize of the Australian Academy of Science (2010) and the Pople Medal of the Asia-Pacific Association for Theoretical and Computational Chemistry (2015). In 2014, she was elected to the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science.